Skip To Content
  • Home
  • Buyer
  • 3 Important Differences Between Real Estate Agents

3 Important Differences Between Real Estate Agents

Pualani Zuniga, Col (Ret), USAF and REALTOR® 
Graduate, Realtor Institute
Seller Representative Specialist (SRS)
Accredited Buyer's Representative (ABR®)
ASP Staging® Professional, ePro® (Advanced Digital Marketing)
Pricing Strategy Advisor (PSA)
Pualani Zuniga, Col (Ret), USAF, REALTOR® and ABR® working hard for her clients

The process of buying a home can be overwhelming! Understanding all the real estate jargon is one of the hardest as it is like learning a foreign language. It’s not just a matter of learning new words. You may also need to unlearn a few things you thought you knew. For example, did you know that “REALTOR®” is a trademark indicating membership in the National Association of REALTORS®, and does not the same as “real estate agent?” Here’s how it works:

Level 1. Real estate licensee

All real estate agents must be licensed. Each state sets its own requirements, in terms of the minimum number of hours spent in real estate education. Before receiving a real estate license, agents must also pass an exam that covers national, as well as state and local real estate laws, standards, and practices. After passing the exam, and joining with a real estate brokerage, a licensee can begin representing buyers and sellers in property transactions.

Level 2. REALTOR®

This is important to homebuyers because REALTORS® abide by a strict Code of Ethics & Professional Standards which are duties that go beyond state licensing laws and help ensure fair and honest treatment to all parties to real estate transactions.

Level 3. Accredited Buyer’s Representative (ABR®)

The National Association of REALTORS® also helps its members develop deeper real estate expertise by providing education, and conferring designations and certifications, in various areas of specialization, including buyer representation.

Bottom Line:

Trackback from your site.

Leave a Reply